Friday, June 26, 2009

TSCPA Young CPA Committee

The TSCPA Young CPA and Emerging Professionals Committee will hold a semi-annual meeting on July 30. We received some great feedback about the Young CPA Conference that was held in May in Houston. We will discuss plans for future Young CPAs conferences as well as other related initiatives.

If you have any ideas or items that you believe the committee should discuss at our next meeting, let us know. You can email ideas or suggestions to me at michael_brown at JRBT dot com.

I look forward to hearing your suggestions and seeing what the committee will do going forward to serve the TSCPA's young CPA members.

Texas Society of CPAs Annual Meeting

I am in San Antonio today and tomorrow for the Texas Society of CPAs Annual Meeting. The first meeting was the Awards Luncheon. The Society recognizes several individuals each year for their service to the profession and the Society. Below are this year's award recipients:

Meritorious Service -- Marchall K. Pitman, CPA, Ph.D.
Distinguished Public Service -- Rene D. Pena, CPA
Outstanding Chairman -- Donna J. Hughly, CPA
Young CPA of the Year -- Jesse Dominguez, Jr., CPA
Young CPA of the Year -- Jerry D. McMillon, CPA
Honorary Fellow -- Robert F. Anderson, II, CPA
Honorary Fellow -- Gary D. McIntosh, CPA
Chairman Citation -- Michael L. Brown, CPA
Chairman Citation -- Janet B. Johnson, CPA

We are now meeting in the first board of directors session. Steve Goodman just finished his past chairman's report -- year in review. I was struck by how much was accomplished by the TSCPA in this past year. The society has been strengthened by dynamic leaders these past few years, and I see that trend continuing in the future.

Monday, June 22, 2009

TSCPA Chairman, Kym Anderson, is Blogging

We get to welcome another CPA into the blogging world. Kym Anderson is the incoming Chairman for the Texas Society of Certified Public Accountants. I have known Kym for a couple years now, and I am excited about what she will bring to the position of Chairman for our state CPA society.